CKA, CKAD, and CKS - Frequently Asked Questions

Kubernetes job opportunities have been on the rise with the increasing adoption of cloud-native technologies and the growing demand for containerization and automation in software development. If you are interested in pursuing a career in Kubernetes, obtaining a certification from the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF) is a great way to showcase your skills and experience to potential employers. The three most popular CNCF Kubernetes certifications are CKA, CKAD, and CKS.

In this article, we'll look at the most frequently asked questions about Kubernetes certifications offered by the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF).

Kubernetes Certification – Section Introduction

Kubernetes certifications are very important in today's competitive job market. They validate a candidate's proficiency in deploying, managing, and troubleshooting Kubernetes clusters.

Moreover, Kubernetes certifications are updated regularly to reflect the latest developments in the Kubernetes ecosystem. Therefore, it is an effective way to stay up-to-date with the latest features and best practices.

Below are the most popular Kubernetes certifications offered by CNCF:

Try the Kubernetes Pods Lab for free

Kubernetes Pods Lab
Kubernetes Pods Lab

Here are some Frequently Asked Questions:

How do I register for a Kubernetes certification exam?

Below are the links to follow to register for the exam:

How long do I have to take the exam?

  • Once purchased, you can take the exam within 12 months, enough time to prepare and attempt your CKA, CKAD, and CKS exams.

How many attempts do I get?

  • You get 1 free retake for each of these exams. A total of 2 attempts can be taken for these exams.
  • The second attempt can be taken only if you fail the first attempt.

Should I go for CKA or CKAD, or CKS?

  • If you need to try Kubernetes Certification and get one quickly, I’d say go for CKAD as it’s easy to prepare and crack, compared to CKA.
  • If you want to learn Kubernetes well, go for CKA. I think all system administrators and operations engineers should target CKA.
  • If you are preparing for CKA, CKAD is an easy add-on. You can target to achieve CKAD 2-3 weeks after CKA.
  • Before taking the Certified Kubernetes Security Specialist (CKS) exam, applicants must have completed and passed the Certified Kubernetes Administrator (CKA) exam. CKS can be purchased but not booked until CKA certification is obtained.

I am not a developer, so is CKAD for me?

  • You don’t need to be a developer to attempt CKAD. No coding experience is required. You will be focusing on deploying a given application.

Do I need any coding or programming knowledge to learn Kubernetes?

  • No, you do not need any scripting or programming knowledge to do CKA or CKAD.

What is the score needed to pass the exam?

  • CKA – above 66% score
  • CKAD – above 66% score
  • CKS – above 67% score

What are the exam and system requirements for CKA, CKAD, and CKS exams?

Exam Requirements

  • Government-issued IDs with candidates’ full name, photo, and signature.
  • A well-lit room with a clear background is suggested as this exam is proctored.

System Requirements

  • The current version of Chrome or Chromium
  • Stable Internet connection
  • Webcam
  • Microphone

How do I prepare for the exam?

One of the best ways to prepare for exams is to learn and practice what you are learning. This will help you internalize the materials. Consider taking exam preparation courses like the ones offered by KodeKloud: CKAD, CKA, and CKS.

Once you enroll, you will get access to our Slack Channel where our instructors and experts will help in answering your doubts and help you in getting through the practical lab exercises. Learn from others and by helping others.

More on Kubernetes certifications: